BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST SONG

[image via]

I was recently looking for a fluffy beach read and found Nicholas Sparks’ “The Last Song” for 25c at a garage sale.  That sounded like a winner to me!

(Before I go further, there will definitely be “spoilers”…if that’s what you can even call them because ol’ Nick is pretty predictable.)

[via]

My first problem with this book is that Miley Cyrus plays the main character in the movie version.  Usually, I like to make up my own mental picture of what the characters look like. This meant I spent the whole book trying to decide what I thought Ronnie would look like if she didn’t look like Miley Cyrus.  I never really came up with any thing. Probably because none of the characters had any depth.  I found myself making up their own back story. But I’m getting ahead of myself…

In The Last Song, Ronnie & her brother Jonah are sent to live with their father in a North Carolina beach town for a summer.  Ronnie totally hates it there because she’s used to partying in NYC. Of course she meets a boy and things get interesting. Blah blah blah…the middle part isn’t really that important.  I was so bored for the first 90% of the book. BUT THEN YOU FIND OUT HER DAD HAS CANCER AND THAT’S WHY THEY ARE LIVING WITH HIM! Well rip my heart out and stomp all over it…the last few chapters I just cried my eyes out. I “ugly cried”- you know when you cry so hard your face just looks ugly? And to top it off, I was reading it in a public place while listening to this lady’s story.  The time Ronnie spends with her dad at the end of his life is really sweet. It ends pretty neatly.

Because I’m the worst book reviewer on the planet, I’m not sure if I should recommend this or not.  Is the first 90% worth the last 10%? Probably not. But maybe.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST SONG

Leave a Reply

