CONVERSATION STARTER: NPR, ALIENS, AND TERRY GROSS

First of all, let me say, that I love National Public Radio (or NPR as we weidos call it). My dad always listened to talk radio growing up- maybe that’s where I get it? Hands down, my fav program is Fresh Air. Terry Gross l, the host, has interviewed everyone on the planet- from Gene Simmons to Elmo. (She broke her own rule that she doesn’t interview puppets. She’s a serious journalist, y’all) Sassy at times, Terri asks awesome questions about niche subjects. Niche’s are my FAVORITES!

Fast Fact- when I first started listening, I totally pictured Terry looking like Principal Angela Li from Daria. Needless to say, I was shocked to see what she really looked like…
20120601-175742.jpg

My very favorite Fresh Air episode featured journalist Annie Jacobson who wrote a book called Area 51: An Uncensored History of America’s Top Secret Military Base. I listened to this podcast 2x. I would listen at least once if I were you!

Here’s the gist- basically Area 51 is classified because the Russians genetically modified humans and sent them on a small air craft to scare the US during the Cold War. They decided to take advantage of Americans fear & fascination of extraterrestrials. It crashed in New Mexico and some top secret military professionals were in charge of researching it.

20120601-172653.jpg

These stories- along with the adventure it was to get the story on Area 51 make for GREAT conversation & an interesting interview. You can listen& decide of you believe it for yourself here.

I would LOVE to talk to you about this. Your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

