Hello Mornings Monday! Week 1

HelloMornings
Let me be honest- I had a rough first week with the Hello Morning’s Challenge.  I debated not even posting today, but I figured it was the best thing to keep me accountable! [Thus the reason I’m posting about the MORNINGS challenge at NIGHT! ha] It didn’t help that the start of the challenge landed on the BUSIEST week of my whole year- ASU welcome week! All that to say, it did get me out of bed a few times this week & that’s WAY better than I had been doing!

I was feeling pretty defeated about the whole deal BUT THEN I read this line from the weekly email:

“There is no certain time you should wake up. There is no certain Bible Study you should do.
There is no certain way you should exercise. There is no certain planning formula.
There are no rules. There are no standards.
There is only one thing – Jesus.
Isn’t that the gist of this whole thing? To draw closer to Him and not focus on what I’m NOT doing?

We’re doing a study called “Kept: Secure in His Hand, Whatever I face” It’s on 1st Peter and was written by Lara Williams and Katie Orr.

I relate a great deal to Peter- he has an earnest desire to follow Jesus but sometimes gets thrown off in the moment.  He also compelled to boldness by the Holy Spirit.

I’m also doing daily exercises from “Writing to God: 40 Days of Praying with My Pen.”

I’m really enjoying this as a tool for devotional life & to practice writing.

Self Grade for Week 1: C-

Overall Impressions from Week 1: Peter is a relate-able guy that I can learn a lot from.  God is for me, not against me.  Holy Spirit wants to partner with me for the Kingdom.

Goals for Week 2: *Get up every day early

*Work out 4 days this week

*Consistently tweet to my [great!] group!

Leave a Reply

