MY PIN-JURY, A TALE OF PINNING GONE WRONG.

I really didn’t mean to get sucked into the beast that is Pinterest….it just sort of happened. Kind of like the girl in the horror film who just HAS to check out the basement. And it’s so stinkin’ useful! Like google for Katie! I really wanted to start incorporating some strength training into my workouts because I kept reading all of this stuff about how you can’t just do cardio. Lezzz be honest- the weight section of the gym can be very intimidating for a lady! I always see those cute little workouts on the Pinterest- cute fonts and like cute names (like the 5,4,3,2,1 work out or beach babe booty work out.). I decided to dive in to the Pin….and oh would I regret it later.

I came across what was called the “Beginners Crossfit Style WOD” from The Asecnt Blog. (WOD stands for Workout of the Day). Crossfit is so trendy and I love how everyone who does Crossfit loves each other. (Plus one of my fav bloggers is super into Crossfit) I thought- hey! Why not! I don’t even need any equiptment. It was called “The Ladder”- not too intimidating, right? Wrong- just like the guy who’s idea it is to all split up and search for the murderer. I failed to really read the work out. Before I knew it, I had my Hulu tuned to Pretty Little Liars & my yoga mat rolled out. What came next…can only be described as terrible & embarrassing.

Here is the WARM UP!

20121128-120121.jpg

Am I nuts?! 30 pushups in the WARM UP!? Well I did it. About 3/4ths of the way through the third round, I was getting sloppy.  I was trying to move fast (you’re not supposed to rest for more than 10 seconds!) and I got up from the push ups really fast. All of a sudden I felt a stabbing in my upper thigh- I had caught the jagged, broken edge of my laundry basket, full of laundry waiting to be folded.

I decided to keep going and continue on to the workout. THE FIRST THING WAS 50 PUSHUPS! WHAT.WAS.I. THINKING?! I made it through about 25, gave up, and laid down in my bed. True confession. I went to examine the damage of the evil laundry basket- a crazy flesh wound had appeared on my leg! [CAUTiON: GROSS PICTURE]

Yeah…super painful! I’m dubbing it my Pin-jury. Maybe later on in life I’ll pick up scrapbooking and say things like, “Oh I don’t know if I can do one more page for my Florida vacation, my old pin-jury is acting up.”

What is the lesson to be learned from this fateful tale? Should I have folded my laundry, thus removing the basket? Should I have completed this routine in a normal place- like the gym or a park? Oh no my friends, the lesson to be learned here is to stay off of Pinterest. It can only bring you harm and unrealistic expectations for holiday gatherings.

2 thoughts on “MY PIN-JURY, A TALE OF PINNING GONE WRONG.

  1. claire chapman hay

    This is hilarious! That WOD is from my blog… I guess I should put a disclaimer on there to try to avoid sharp objects while working out… And now that you mention, that is kind of a lot of push-ups to have in a “Beginner” workout. You’ve inspired me to add a note on that workout about adjusting the reps! Hope you feel better 🙂

    • ktcannon

      Hahahahhahahah! I really do appreciate you posting those WOD’s!!! I’m going to stick to it- I think I may be like…a pre beginner! I am still sore from just the warm up-and I’m grateful you shared! Also- it is so hilarious that you even found my corner of the Internet! The power of a link!

Leave a Reply

