Fresh Starts: Thoughts on the New Year.

20130105-152231.jpg

I’m a sanguine, and therefore I love fresh starts, new beginnings and novelty. There is no exception with the start of the new year- a chance to start COMPLETELY fresh. It’s very exhilarating. I usually don’t make “resolutions” per say, but the beginning of the year is a great time to reevaluate, reflect, and plan for the future. Plus I love a good trend and resolutions are tres trendy this time of year.

As I sat down to write some goals for the year, I decided that no goal was too big. Just because most people fail to stick with their resolutions, doesn’t mean I can’t DREAM BIG. I was ready to make a big ol’ list full of big ol’ dreams. As I started listing, I realized that all of my goals were kind of flowing with the same theme, and none of them were that insane. I came up with about 5- they all had to do with (what I’m calling…and I probably stole this from Lori) life rhythms- patterns and lifestyle choices. Little ways I would like to tweak my lifestyle that will garner big results.

It seems this is a season that the Lord wants to lay a fresh foundation in my life. This is the weirdest thing about the Kingdom of God to me- what we do in the secret place is what gives us the biggest promotion, not what is done on stage. The more we give away, the more we are blessed. The more we die, the more we live. In gutting my old rotting foundation, I’m not going to topple over.

THAT BEING SAID- this sounds all romantical during the first week of January. It’s going to take more work than I’ve ever put into something. At the risk of sounding incredibly naive, I think I can do it. With the help of the Wonderful Counselor, I think I can do it.

I’d love to hear your tips & tricks for how to stick with a goal…I’m going to need all the help I can get this year!!!

Leave a Reply

