Thoughts on Fasting & The Dr. Oz 3 Day Detox

20130121-183024.jpg

I’m not sure who said it, but i think this quote is important,

“Fasting apart from prayer is just a diet.” That being said, I wanted to share my experience doing a physical and spiritual detox- a great thing to do at the beginning of the year!

Let me be clear from the get-go: I am not writing about fasting because I want to toot my own horn. I suck at fasting and mostly hate it…haha. I do want to share my experiences to help someone else or to add something to “the conversation.”

My church recently did a 3 day fast. You could fast what ever you want and they had prayer services in the evening each day. Since I am like the worst faster in the entire universe, I decided I needed a plan. If I don’t have a plan and I decide to do a Daniel Fast, it’s way too easy to be like “Oh well this muffin isn’t exactly sweet….” and then it’s all down hill from there. πŸ™‚

I decided to use the Dr. Oz 3 Day Detox for my 3 day fast. I picked it beause there was actually some science behind it and not just starvation& cayenne pepper.

Basically, this detox involves 3 days of 4 smoothies a day, some supplements, and a lavendar bath each night! (I opted for a really hot shower.) They have this cute little graphic to help you grocery shop and keep track of what you are doing.
20130121-183409.jpg

Here are most of the groceries I got:

20130121-183617.jpg

Here are my general observations:

20130121-184157.jpg
Day 1: HUGE headache and NO energy. This could be because I hadn’t eaten properly the day before. There are some pre detox meals they recommend.

Day 2: Woke up with no head ache feeling MUCH better. I was going to be out all day, so I made the lunch smoothie ahead and brought it with me. The lunch smoothie is the worst- the texture is crazy and the celery is kind of overpowering. Also, all I could think about was chewing something- anything! Even the ads in the Jack-in-the-Box windows were looking delicious to me.

Day 3: I could have eaten an entire jar of peanut butter. It wasn’t that I was hungry- I just wanted real food! This day was, by far, the hardest!

So- would I do it again? Maybe! The lavender at night was really nice- especially while doing a fast. I felt like it helped me get in tune with my body and process what God was saying. I may start incorporating the breakfast smoothie into my routine. Overall- it’s really tough mentally to make it through 3 days with no chewing! I believe that it made an impact on our church and, most importantly, my heart. ( As a bonus, it made me so thankful for FOOD and made me much more aware of everyday blessings in my life…such as cheeseburgers.)

One thought on “Thoughts on Fasting & The Dr. Oz 3 Day Detox

Leave a Reply

