how I started to suck less at praying.

20130522-104132.jpg

You guys…I wish I was like some crazy intercessor who could spend hours on her knees trevailing over our nation. But the fact of the matter is…I’m not. There are about a bajillion verses in the Bible that liken life to running a race. You wouldn’t start off running a marathon, right? You’d train up to that! So I have this weird little thing I do to remember to pray more for people I really care about a little bit at a time. I pick out symbols or things that remind me of them, and then when ever I see or hear that thing, I pray for them right there.

I’ll give you some examples….don’t laugh.

When Taylor Swift’s “We are never getting back together” comes on the radio, I pray for Kristen because she told me that she heard it a million times on a road trip one time.

When I see this one kind of bush, I pray for Sam to be healed of allergies because one time she told me she was allergic to that kind of bush.

My neighbor has a license plate that says “LILYPOP.” For some reason that reminds me of a girl named Lily that I met and got to pray for from the Wilder Tour. I see the license plate every morning when I leave!

When I see a white truck, it reminds me of Shawn…I remember to pray for Shawn & Candi and Chi Alpha and their fam.

I know it’s weird, but it’s a way to work some prayer into my day. I’ve known people to “name” their fingers and then pray through their fingers throughout the day. Also, the car & shower are prime houses of prayer too. I don’t think that this all replaces spending time with Jesus and the Word, but it’s a way for me to train myself into praying more and bringing a little Phillipians 4:6 into my life : “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Can’t we all afford to have a little less anxiety in our lives?!

Do you have any weird prayer techniques?! I’d love to hear them! I won’t laugh, promise!

2 thoughts on “how I started to suck less at praying.

Leave a Reply

