#10 Go to a worship service at Phoenix First

20130713-211434.jpg

Sometimes when I talk about Phoenix First, people ask me if I go there…and I usually respond, “yeah…recreationally.” Hah sometimes it’s nice to go to a huge church where you can just go and enjoy worship in a different setting. (Not that I don’t simply adore my church! I do! You should come with me!) I hadn’t been to Phoenix 1st in a super long time so I knew I wanted it to be part of my bucket list! Plus I love driving up the 51- it winds through some mountains and makes it feel like you’re going far away. Well..to me at least!

This weekend Forever Jones was leading worship- they’re a family of musicians that sing gospel. They led some old favorites and sang some their original songs too. They were awesome.

20130714-204603.jpg

Poor Mag…always being subjected to taking pictures with me for the blog…. 😉

Pastor Luke spoke about Heaven & Hell. He talked about the reality of heaven- a place of security, protection, purity, freedom from shame, and community with God for ever. The contrast of hell is startling- a place of exposure, regret, shame, and isolation. Sometimes talking about hell is uncomfortable- but the reality of heaven and life with God is super motivating to me to share His love with the people around me.

20130714-205412.jpg

Pastor Luke brought up the fact that the standard of the Kingdom is in direct opposition to the standards of the world.

20130714-205445.jpg

But Christ gives us hope in Matthew 5:11-12

11 “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. 12 Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

His charge at the end of the night was to “stand firm and smile on the inside.” Great is our reward in heaven.

20130714-205643.jpg

Pastor Dana referred to this same concept this morning in church- he likened it to a roller coaster. Sometimes you’re on top- sometimes you’re in the valley but Jesus is always with you!

I was so blessed to be at Phoenix First on Saturday night! Super encouraging for where I am right now- I’m feeling encouraged to press on and not quit!

After church, Mag and I went to Carolina’s- so so yummy! Love their tortillas and horchata!!

20130714-205854.jpg

I’m glad I checked this one off the list- but I may need to do it over again by the time the summer is over!

At the beginning of the summer, I wrote out a list of fun things I wanted to get done this summer! You can read the complete list here and all the posts here!

Leave a Reply

