Summer of Risks

Towards the end of Mending the Soul, a theraputic group study I went through, I started to realize that there were a lot of things I did or said because I thought it was who I was…but it really wasn’t. I realized I had a lot of fear about exploring what I liked or who I was. I had been down this road a little before….(see the emo pics on my instagram) but this round wasn’t about rebellion. This was about true discovery and and end of fear! It was about stepping into who God really created me to be: free and fearless! One of my favorite verses is 1 John 4:18 “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.” I’ve always KNOWN Jesus loves me but it’s a whole different ball game to embrace that love fully. To believe it and apply it to your life. To embrace the Father’s love.

So some of these things may seem silly or vain or weird or whatever. But they were small steps into stepping into my identity. I know its hard to get..and there is more to the story. So, if you must, judge away. They were ALL risks for me and that’s what’s important! Here’s a small selection of some things I did!

20130903-130834.jpg

1. Went kayaking!
2.-3. Colored my hair way lighter!
4. Lit sparklers
5.-6. Started eating things with peach in them! Green tea & salsa!
7. This X ring.
8. Chose quirky frames over boring, normal ones.
9. Painted my nails black. (I was so nervous and the girl kept saying, “UM are you sure you want to do this?” Haha )
10. Obnoxiously large earrings
11. Skull scarf!
12. Went out for Xtina’s birthday! I was so scared!
13. Listened to this cd. And was scarred for life.
14. Pierced my nose!
15. Went to a rap concert!

Special shout out to Karrie the counselor, my MTS girls, my sisters, Candi, Abby Woods, my Dolce Dolls, and many more for supporting my summer of risks!

3 thoughts on “Summer of Risks

Leave a Reply

