#redwhiteandbetsy: Fourth of July ’14

20140712-110506.jpg

 

Fourth of July in Arizona is rough for midwestern girls. Where are the parades? The random fireworks watching spots? The relief from the heat?! Last year, we threw a going away party at a house I was housesitting at. (I had permission!) This year, Mag and I decided to visit Bets in sunny San Diego!20140712-104447.jpg

The drive was pretty uneventful….but we did see fireworks from the road! Fun surprise and a great kick off to America’s birthday. (Oh and I got new red lip stick for the occasion from NYX’s Butter line. Love it- smooth, matte, and CHEAP!)

We got in late Thursday night, grabbed some Mexican food, and crashed. The next morning was the Fourth. I always envy toddler style on Independance Day…it’s just so fun and patriotic. Between my American flag bow, necklace, and little girl dress ($7 from H&M with a cute tie back!), I think I got close to 3 year old swag. Betsy was the adult and refused to cheese it up with us.

20140712-104519.jpg

 

Obvi, I had yelped a million delish restaurants in the Gaslamp Quarter area of SD. We decided to head to Cafe 21…it was packed. The hostess was adorable & efficient, though.

20140712-104524.jpg

 

I ordered the Cafe 21 Shrimp corn cakes and we ordered the sangria flight. OMG! Local bread, butter (!), and it was topped with edible flowers! Brunch of my dreams!

20140712-104528.jpg

 

We spent the rest of the afternoon at the pool at our hotel….which was packed. There was good people watching though and a gorg view of the ocean. That night, for the fireworks, we posted up at a restaurant at our hotel and ordered apps & zerts.

20140712-104539.jpg20140712-104534.jpg

 

We had our beads on, patriotic wear on, and watched fireworks go off all over the bay. Happy Birthday, USA! ❀

 

The next morning, we decided to take the ferry over to Coronado.

 

 

20140712-104547.jpg

 

Our friend Chris met us over there and we wandered around the island for the afternoon….

20140712-104600.jpg

 

We did everything vacation-y- dipped our toes in the water, snapped pictures, ate ice cream… everywhere was PACKED, though. Everyone else got out of AZ too.20140712-104553.jpg

 

These two….the best sisters I could ask for! Even though they made me sit at the front of the boat. πŸ™‚

20140712-104604.jpgThe sun sort of zapped us, so we took a litttle nap because we had late dinner reservations. Our hotel was doing a movie by the pool (The Sandlot!)- Bets & I watched for a little bit before we walked to Seaport Village.

20140712-104614.jpg

 

We ate at Puesto…amazing tacos. I ordered a Strawberry Mint Agua Fresca. I’m not usually a huge mint fan, but it was perfectly refreshing!

 

The next morning we went to Betsy’s church! They invited us right in and I got to meet my Facebook friend Laci for the first time in real life! (While Marina was meeting Rihanna in real life AT THE SAME TIME!) Angelique was there too! Β Church was great, obvs I balled my eyes out, and it had a gorg view of the coast.

20140712-104626.jpg

Obvs I took a creeper pic to text Marines. It makes me really happy to know that Bets is a part of a great community in SD. πŸ™‚ Plus it’s just so fun to have friends that are family through the Kingdom of God! ❀ I just kept thinking about that…it’s more than just having friends ALL around the world, it’s about having people “get” you on a spiritual level. I don’t really “know” Laci, but we hit it right off. I haven’t seen Chris in forever, but he was such a great bro to me and my sisters.

It was a lovely weekend, and I’m already thinking about where we should spend our next 4th! Shout outs to: my dad for hooking us up with a baller hotel, Chris for being an amazing host, Bets for letting us play tourists, Esther for leading a great church…service? (That seems like the wrong word haha), and Mag for driving the whole time. Here’s to another great year, America! I pray you’re richly blessed!!

2 thoughts on “#redwhiteandbetsy: Fourth of July ’14

Leave a Reply

