Two Years Ago Today: A Dolce Memoir

I tweeted this two years ago today:



I searched my blog and I can’t believe I’ve never blogged about this here before! I wrote a post for Dolce’s blog but that has since faded into the Internets. 

Two years ago today was my first day at Dolce Salon & Spa. I still remember them asking me in my interview (not once but) TWICE if I was willing to wear a full face of make up. I had never worn foundation in my life- they were right to be hesitant. Haha

 I was in a big transitionary phase of my life- God was asking me to take a step back from Chi Alpha & ministry & work through some healing. I thought this job was “random” but it ended up dovetailing perfectly with where I was in my journey. I did a whole Summer of Risks. I worked though Mending the Soul and started learning who I was. Shame started falling off. Working at a salon let me learn how to express on the outside what I was feeling on the inside. It gave me permission to try to work on my appearance. 

This is not a story just about how I learned to lightly contour and how to blend eye shadow and how I gained an appreciation for a good spray tan- it’s about how I finally allowed God to dust me off and reveal my worth to myself. You can’t deny the transformation though:



The following photos are all about 5 years apart on the same day:







One of my favorite Bible verses is 1 John 4:18 “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.” The Lord took a few years with me at a job that was not in my comfort zone or realm of expertise and perfected me in love. I was around people at work who valued presenting themselves well and I rose to the occasion. I spent time in a Mending the Soul group around women who values working through lifetimes of junk and I got better. 

While I’m at a new job now and my life looks different, I’m still thankful for the time I spent at the Dolch. As I am in the midst of a new season of growth, it’s encouraging to see how far the Lord has brought me. Growth and change can be so uncomfortable but God continually reminds me of my story. Of where I’ve been. It’s a great comfort to know that the best has yet to come- that I can continue to fight for the best me. 


2 thoughts on “Two Years Ago Today: A Dolce Memoir

  1. worleyhouse

    I just love this post. Mostly I love what god taught you through the experience. You are radiantly confident and when I see you I think of a girl who know’s her self worth and knows her God has chosen her. It’s not perfect, but it’s a beautiful thing!

Leave a Reply

