Revelation at the Dentist. 

  I have had an infected tooth for over 4 years. It had abcessed so much that other dental hygienists had to come & take a peek. “I have never seen anything like this before!” is not something you want to hear your dentist say. My entire sinus cavity had filled with infection and I was starting to lose bone. 

Today was the big day to tackle the issue. On the docket: a root canal, a crown, & a filling. When the dentist got in there, he found that the one tooth crumbled and couldn’t handle a filling. He had to do a second crown and (extremely generously) did not charge me for it. In case you are like part of the royal family and don’t pay bills, those are E X P E N S I V E! 

In that dentist chair, around hour 3, I heard God whisper, “I’m really proud of you.” This dental work has haunted me for years! They say oral health is the best indicator of overall health and incredibly important for heart health. My word for 2015 is “hollistic”- learning health and balance in every way. This is one step closer to me valuing myself, treating my body well, and working towards wholeness. 

I knew it was God’s favor that I wasn’t charged for that second crown. It was a little nod from the Father that I was on the right track. 

I know what you’re thinking, millennial Christian. “If it was truly God, He would have/should have given you the whole thing for free. Or healed your tooth!” Maybe. But the beautiful thing is that God has given me a great job that allowed me to save up money, learn budgeting skills, and left space for me to accomplish something. He provided in 2 ways- #doublemiracle. 

I still think that Jesus would be proud of me and love me even if all of my teeth rotted out of my face and I exclusively ate Mac & cheese for the rest of my life. He’s a great Dad. And that’s not so different than my current diet any way. 😂 But in the same way that a parent beams when their kid takes her first step or tries something new, God smiled at me today. 

I’m sore but happy. You’re worth taking care of. Take a step into the direction of self care, and He will meet you there.

*If you’re looking for a dentist, I can’t recommend Dr. Patterson & his staff enough!

*For the sake of my own pride & ego, my teeth are crazy town because  problem teeth are hereditary in my family and because antibiotics from child hood caused my teeth to be prone to decay. I promise this isn’t a “Lamar” type of thing. 

*I also don’t think God gave me an infected tooth to teach me a lesson. I think He used some of my negligence to teach me something. Oh grace. 🙂 

Leave a Reply

