The Case Against Being a Butt Baby

  If you’ve talked to me at any length in the past year, you’ve probably heard this story. I was sitting at the same counter where this all went down tonight & the story popped into my head. I thought it was time to share it here.

My 2015 sucked. The whole thing was just kind of a giant heart break. I cried more than usual. It was just hard.

One evening, I was crying in Shawn & Candi’s kitchen. I was sitting at the counter and just word vomiting everything I was feeling. As Shawn was encouraging me to ask Jesus what He had to say about the situation, Skyler runs into the kitchen. [Side note: Skyler is the most hilarious, adventurous, crazy four year old I know.] He said the most profound sentance to me. It was  a huge turning point for my year. Skyler screams at the top of his little lungs,

“Katie- stop being a butt baby and come jump on the trampoline!”

You know what? I was being a butt baby. Now, I am a huge advocate for walking through grief- you gotta feel your feelings, ya dig? But I was wallowing it. Focusing on it. Throwing a giant pity party. Mope city. Skyler nailed it on the head. 

So I ran with him into the back yard and I jumped on that trampoline. As we were bouncing and laughing, it broke something in me. It shifted my focus. It sent me in the direction that I wanted to go- back to joy and fun. It took the focus off of myself and on to something different.

It reminded me of Matthew 18:3:

“Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

Sometimes, you have to do something childlike to break out of our clunky adult mindsets. As an adult, I can be jaded or cynical. When I am childlike, I am full of wonder and joy and acceptance. The little things don’t matter as much. You can be a butt baby sometimes. You can have your moment. Take some time to process. But don’t stay there. I hope you have a good kitchen counter where you can spill your guts. When the time is right, look for an opportunity to get on a trampoline. I’m sure Skyler would love to bounce with you. 
Ps: Skyler got in trouble for saying butt baby. He’s not allowed to go around and say such offensive things…but I’m glad he said it to me. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

