RECIPE-PALOOZA: SUMMER EATS

It can be really challenging to cook and shop for a single person…especially on a budget…and especially if you want to eat healthy! I’m always on the look out for recipes that can be made for one or produce good left overs.

Lucky for me, Superstition Ranch Market in Mesa has SUPER cheap produce- I filled up my cart for $12.88! (Corn, spaghetti squash, apples, lettuce, spinach, strawberries, watermelon…and more!) Seriously! Go there if you’re in AZ! It’s worth the drive!

I thought I’d post some recipes that I made this week- they were cheap, easy, and relatively healthy. All of these would be great to bring to a summer BBQ or pool party!

 

(**None of these photos are mine.  They are linked to their original source.)

 

 Zucchini Pizza Bites from Skinny Taste

These were fast & easy.  I sauteed the slices and then put the sauce & cheese on while they were in the pan. I also added a sprinkle of oregano on top. It was plenty of heat to melt the cheese and they were GOOD! Kind of like a healthy version of bagel bites.  Zucchini is everywhere during the summer too. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m really into it. If you didn’t have pizza sauce, I think these would be good with just a slice of tomato. Add a side salad and you’ve got a great summer meal!

 

Southwestern Black Bean Salad from Skinny Taste

This was yummy! I put it on a whole wheat tortilla with some brown rice. I spread avocado on the tortilla.  I didn’t add the olive oil- it didn’t need it.  I added northern beans for some bonus fiber. It was yummy!

 

Strawberry Lemonade Popsicles from Willow Bird Baking

I bought  the same popsicle mold from the dollar store that was used in this post. I don’t have a blender/food processor so I just boiled the strawberries for a little longer so they broke down & used stevia to save some cals.  I think I’m going to make some with coconut milk too. #getcrazy.

 

Do you have any fun summer recipes? Let me know!

Leave a comment